Spending Time

“Time keeps tickin’ away, tick tick tickin’ away” *. We all realize this. Our time is valuable. But did you know that God tells us in His Word to make the most of our time?

“Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men, but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil. So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” ~ Ephesians 5:15-17

Time is short. Let’s seek after what the will of God is for our lives and not waste this precious gift of time on silly arguments or gossip or other nonsense!

“But shun foolish controversies and genealogies and strife and disputes about the Law; for they are unprofitable and worthless.” ~ Titus 3:9

God, please give me wisdom to see when I am wasting time on things that are not worth spending my time on.

“Conduct yourselves with wisdom toward outsiders, making the most of the opportunity. Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned, as it were, with salt, so that you may know how you should respond to each person.” ~ Colossians 4:5-6

Let me be about my heavenly Father’s business, a living example of God’s grace.

“Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, handling accurately the word of truth. But avoid worldly and empty chatter, for it will lead to further ungodliness, and their talk will spread like gangrene.” ~ 2 Timothy 2:15-17a

May I be careful to handle God’s Word accurately and correctly. And may I avoid “worldly and empty chatter”.

As I am growing older and trying to prioritize my life and my time, with help from the Holy Spirit, and attempting to bring things more in line with God and His will, this verse has been on my heart:

“Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, let your mind dwell on these things.” ~ Philippians 4:8

This is how I should spend my time, letting my mind dwell on those things, and telling others the good news about what Jesus has done for me! 🙂

*from the song “Time Is…” by dc Talk

This entry was posted in Ephesians, God, Jesus, July 2012, Time, Timothy, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

