THIS is the Day

This morning I read a few chapters in 2 Kings about the purging of Ahab’s family, as a consequence of his terribly wicked ways. I love to read God’s word, no matter what the content, but I must confess that I didn’t have an “a-ha” moment. I did decide, once again, to try to walk with the LORD all of my days and avoid the consequences of bad choices!

Then I rushed through my crazy morning- moving the animals from one pasture to another (except the goats balked and hemmed and hawed and chose to stay put while the horse happily thundered down into the green(er) grass), opening up the chicken yard (only to discover that somehow the ducklings had squeezed under our framed chicken wire walls and were all OUTSIDE while their parents frantically ran back and forth), reuniting the little ones with their parents only to have one of our dogs suddenly pull a Looney Tunes “Sylvester and Tweety” moment and pop a duckling into his mouth (he is in solitary confinement right now and the duckling is fine). Sigh. Just another day!

As I sat in the car later, watching our youngest daughter nervously pull away in a drivers ed car, I breathed a sigh of relief that we had made it on time and safely. I thought about how stressful life has been in recent weeks with drivers ed thrown into our already full schedule. And then a verse came to mind.

“This [is] the day [which] the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.” ~ Psalm 118:24 (KJV)

Every day is this day, a day which the LORD has made. Whether it is a good day or a bad day, whether I’m at home or scurrying about town, whether there is sunshine or rain~ this is the day “which the LORD hath made”.

I have a choice to make. And I will rejoice and be glad in it! 🙂

This entry was posted in 2 Kings, Consequences, God, Joy, July 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THIS is the Day

  1. carolynrice says:

    Your post is inspiring. God Bless you.

Leave a Reply

