Sleepless

Is there anyone else out there struggling to fall asleep at night?? Sometimes, for me, I know it is just pure, simple insomnia. But other times, like this past week, it is my to-do list and worries that keep me awake until the wee hours. I am so tired.

Turning to God’s Word for guidance and counsel…

“I have set the LORD always before me: because [he is] at my right hand, I shall not be moved. Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoiceth: my flesh also shall rest in hope. For thou wilt not leave my soul in hell; neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy One to see corruption. Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence [is] fulness of joy; at thy right hand [there are] pleasures for evermore.” ~ Psalm 16:8-11 (KJV)

I need to keep my focus on the LORD. In Him is gladness, joy, rest, hope, safety and life!

“And I said, Oh that I had wings like a dove! [for then] would I fly away, and be at rest.” ~ Psalm 55:6 (KJV)

But oh, how there are times I would like to “fly away, and be at rest”…

“Return unto thy rest, O my soul; for the LORD hath dealt bountifully with thee.” ~ Psalm 116:7 (KJV)

Return to God, O my soul, for He has heaped blessings upon me!

“This [is] my rest for ever: here will I dwell; for I have desired it.” ~ Psalm 132:14 (KJV)

My heart does long to dwell in His rest, forever!

“Come unto me, all [ye] that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.” ~ Matthew 11:28-29 (KJV)

Let Jesus carry the burdens. Surrender all. Accept His rest for my soul!

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” ~ 2 Corinthians 12:9 (KJV)

I will never be strong enough. Never. Let Jesus give me His grace and His power.

“And he arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still. And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm.” ~ Mark 4:39 (KJV)

Oh, God, please rebuke the storms in my own soul. Peace, be still!

“Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” ~ John 14:27 (KJV)

The world has no peace to offer. But Jesus has more than enough peace to give, taking away my fears and calming my troubled heart.

“These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” ~ John 16:33 (KJV)

Trials, trouble, toil. I am so tired. But I can be of good cheer. Jesus has overcome the world! Hallelujah!

“For the kingdom of God is not meat and drink; but righteousness, and peace, and joy in the Holy Ghost.” ~ Romans 14:17 (KJV)

The little things of life really are small, in the scheme of things. I need to keep my eyes on the bigger picture, the kingdom of God, and dwell in the righteousness, peace and joy that the Holy Spirit gives.

“Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost.” ~ Romans 15:13 (KJV)

Am I trying on my own power, instead of through the power of the Holy Spirit?? I want to be filled with “all joy and peace”, abounding in hope!

“And the God of peace shall bruise Satan under your feet shortly. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ [be] with you. Amen.” ~ Romans 16:20 (KJV)

The real enemy of my soul, and yours, is Satan. But God reminds us time and again in His word that Satan will not triumph. The God of peace wins!

“For God is not [the author] of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints.” ~ 1 Corinthians 14:33 (KJV)

Confusion and worry is not from God. Peace is.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.” ~ Galatians 5:22-23 (KJV)

Again, I need to live by the power of the Holy Spirit, experiencing the fruit!

“And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” ~ Philippians 4:7 (KJV)

Peace which passes all understanding~ thank you, Jesus! Keep my heart and my mind.

“And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful.” ~ Colossians 3:15 (KJV)

Let God’s peace rule in my heart. And let me be thankful!

“Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed? (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things. But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day [is] the evil thereof.” ~ Matthew 6:31-34 (KJV)

God already knows my needs. I need to set my thoughts on Him, and on His kingdom, and He will provide.

I like Matthew 6:34 in the New American Standard translation~ “‘Therefore do not be anxious for tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.'”

Note to self: Don’t borrow trouble and worry about tomorrow. God’s got it covered.

“Mercy unto you, and peace, and love, be multiplied.” ~ Jude 1:2 (KJV)

This entry was posted in Blessings, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, Heart, Hope, Jesus, Joy, June 2012, Love, Peace, Satan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

