Joyful and Glad of Heart

“On the eighth day he sent the people away and they blessed the king. Then they went to their tents joyful and glad of heart for all the goodness that the LORD had shown to David His servant and to Israel His people.” ~ 1 Kings 8:66

The celebration and dedication of the Temple was over. The people went away blessing Solomon, their king, and full of joy and gladness for all the goodness that God had shown them. Perhaps they even sang some of the Psalms of David.

Thankful, joyful, glad hearts. Do you have a heart of thankfulness, joyfulness, and gladness? Or are you a bit more like Eeyore? Let’s take a look at all of the goodness that God has shown us and be joyful (rejoice!) and glad. 🙂

“I will be glad and rejoice in thee: I will sing praise to thy name, O thou most High.” ~ Psalm 9:2 (KJV)

“I will bless the LORD, who hath given me counsel: my reins also instruct me in the night seasons. I have set the LORD always before me: because [he is] at my right hand, I shall not be moved. Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoiceth: my flesh also shall rest in hope.” ~ Psalm 16:7-9 (KJV)

“Be glad in the LORD, and rejoice, ye righteous: and shout for joy, all [ye that are] upright in heart.” ~ Psalm 32:11 (KJV)

“The righteous shall be glad in the LORD, and shall trust in him; and all the upright in heart shall glory.” ~ Psalm 64:10 (KJV)

“The humble shall see [this, and] be glad: and your heart shall live that seek God.” ~ Psalm 69:32 (KJV)

“Let all those that seek thee rejoice and be glad in thee: and let such as love thy salvation say continually, Let God be magnified.” ~ Psalm 70:4 (KJV)

“O satisfy us early with thy mercy; that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.” ~ Psalm 90:14 (KJV)

“My meditation of him shall be sweet: I will be glad in the LORD.” ~ Psalm 104:34 (KJV)

“Fear not, O land; be glad and rejoice: for the LORD will do great things.” ~ Joel 2:21 (KJV)

“Thou hast made known to me the ways of life; thou shalt make me full of joy with thy countenance.” ~ Acts 2:28 (KJV)

“But rejoice, inasmuch as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings; that, when his glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy.” ~ 1 Peter 4:13 (KJV)

For today, take your thoughts and your focus off of yourself, and put them on God. Think of the great gift Jesus has given us. Think of God’s grace~ unearned, undeserved kindness, mercy, forgiveness, and love! 🙂

“This [is] the day [which] the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.” ~ Psalm 118:24 (KJV)

This entry was posted in 1 Kings, Blessings, David, God, God's Faithfulness, Heart, Hope, Israel, Jesus, Joy, June 2012, Love, Praises, Psalms, Solomon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

