I Choose to Praise

King David, the man declared by God to be after His own heart, lived a life full of triumph and tragedy, love and war, joy and sorrow. His family was a mess; we read of evil after evil committed by his sons, and heartbreak after heartbreak suffered- consequences of David’s sin.

When Nathan the prophet came to confront David about his adultery with Bathsheba and the murder of her husband, Uriah, David immediately confessed his sin.

“Then David said to Nathan, ‘I have sinned against the LORD.’ And Nathan said to David, ‘The LORD also has taken away your sin; you shall not die.'” ~ 2 Samuel 12:13

Immediate forgiveness. That is what awaits us when we recognize our wrongs and repent, confessing before our Maker. How sweet that is!

Unfortunately, there are often harsh consequences for our actions.

“‘Now therefore, the sword shall never depart from your house…
“‘Thus says the LORD, ‘Behold, I will raise up evil against you from your own household…
“‘…the child also that is born to you shall surely die.'” ~ 2 Samuel 12:10a, 11a, 14b

Wow. David reaped terrible consequences. And he made more bad decisions. Yet, as we read his Psalms, and the account of his life, he rarely had a “poor me” moment. Instead, he owned his mistakes and threw himself upon his Rock. Yes, he cried for help and deliverance from his enemies, and there were times he longed for relief, but he also made a conscious choice to praise and worship and serve the LORD, no matter what.

I strongly recommend you study through the Psalms sometime, and look at how many times David penned the words “I will” or “I shall”. I will. I choose to do this. In my Bible they are underlined, a reminder that I, too, should choose to praise, trust, and worship God, no matter what my circumstances may be.

David lamented and pled for vindication and salvation from his enemies in Psalm 7, yet he ended it in praise. I love this!

“O LORD my God, in Thee I have taken refuge; save me from all those who pursue me, and deliver me…Vindicate me…O let the evil of the wicked come to an end…I will give thanks to the LORD according to His righteousness, and will sing praise to the name of the LORD Most High.” ~ Psalm 7: 1, 8b, 9a, 17 (emphasis mine)

In Psalm 13, David despairs and feels alone- how often do I feel like that?!- yet chooses to end again in praise.

“How long, O LORD? Wilt Thou forget me forever? How long wilt Thou hide Thy face from me? How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart all the day? How long will my enemy be exalted over me?…
But I have trusted in Thy lovingkindess; my heart shall rejoice in Thy salvation. I will sing to the LORD, because He has dealt bountifully with me.” ~ Psalm 13:1-2, 5-6 (emphasis mine)

David also earnestly desired to be clean and right before God. Let that be our desire as well! After being confronted about his sin by the LORD, through Nathan, David penned Psalm 51.

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me away from Thy presence, and do not take Thy Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of Thy salvation, and sustain me with a willing spirit. Then I will teach transgressors Thy ways, and sinners will be converted to Thee. Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, Thou God of my salvation; then my tongue will joyfully sing of Thy righteousness. O LORD, open my lips, that my mouth may declare Thy praise.” ~ Psalm 51:10-15

Let my heart seek after You, God. Let me choose to trust, worship and praise You, in all circumstances.

This entry was posted in 2 Samuel, Consequences, David, Family, Forgiveness, God, God's Faithfulness, Heart, June 2012, Nathan, Obedience, Praises, Psalms, Repentance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

