God Is Protecting Me

I am a crazy introvert. God is working on me and has stretched me over the years, but when it comes to going to a church service by myself…I just was not up to it this morning. So I dropped my wonderful hubby off to go serve in Sunday School and headed to Starbucks. It had been a rough morning. Maybe more caffeine was what I needed.

Mmm, I love coffee! 🙂 And the soft blue April sky and sun shining down on me was heavenly. I headed to the outskirts of town, driving around and exploring new areas, while listening to the church service on the radio. I opened the sunroof, welcomed in the warm breezes, felt slightly guilty about “wasting” gasoline, and sang with the worship team. My troubled soul began to find some rest.

After a half hour or so, I found my way back to the church parking lot (yay, I didn’t get lost!) and sat and listened to our Bible-teaching pastor. His words, God’s words, spoke to my tired, worried heart.

“It is in the power of my hand to do you hurt: but the God of your father spake unto me yesternight, saying, Take thou heed that thou speak not to Jacob either good or bad.” ~ Genesis 31:29 (KJV)

Laban was angry at Jacob for sneaking off and away from him. There was evil in his heart toward Jacob. But God had warned Laban. God was protecting Jacob.

And God does the same for me, and for you. If we belong to Him, He has been and will continue to protect us! Our pastor then asked if we really believe that God loves us and protects us. Do we really believe that?

Do I really believe that my God loves me, leads me, blesses me, guides me, and protects me, always? I may not feel worthy, but He loves me and protects me just because.

“But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” ~ Romans 5:8 (KJV)

We can do nothing to earn that love. He just gives it. Freely. To all of us. While we are yet sinners.

No matter what troubles me, I need to know, not just in my mind, but in my heart, that God loves me and is protecting me. Right now. This very moment. And for always.

Wow. Thanks, God.

This entry was posted in April 2012, Blessings, Genesis, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, Jacob, Laban, Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

