You Took My Heavy Heart and Made it Light!

“Lately the weather has been so bi-polar, and consequently so have I.” ~ lyrics from the song High of 75 by the band Relient K. Wow, am I feeling that way this week! Sometimes the good times in life, those very good days, are followed by days of disappointment and frustration and “the blues”. When I give in to those feelings and that despair, I know that I have just given in to Satan. Why do I let him mess with my emotions and steal my joy?

I had the house all to myself this morning. That is a VERY rare treat for me. Yet, because I had allowed the junk of this world to overwhelm me, I was feeling down and defeated. I happened to remember the music I purchased yesterday from iTunes for one of our kiddos (I like to put CDs in their Easter baskets). I burned the CD, and then thought I would give it a listen. Apparently God knew I needed to hear it; perhaps that is why I couldn’t find it in all the stores I searched?? (I cannot tell you what CD it is, because even though my kiddos don’t usually read this blog, you just never know, and I don’t want to give it away!)

The words and songs spoke to my circumstances, and the upbeat music lifted my spirit. I love how God cares about me, even when I am discouraged and dangerously close to throwing myself a pity party. He reaches out to me with His love, even through a silly little CD. 🙂

And since my Bible is the source of great hope and encouragement, I searched for some verses to address my heart’s ache this morning.

Just in case you’re having one of those “cloudy” days, here is what I found:

“How long shall I take counsel in my soul, [having] sorrow in my heart daily? how long shall mine enemy be exalted over me?” ~ Psalm 13:2 (KJV)

“I will say unto God my rock, Why hast thou forgotten me? why go I mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?” ~ Psalm 42:9 (KJV)

“For the enemy hath persecuted my soul; he hath smitten my life down to the ground; he hath made me to dwell in darkness, as those that have been long dead.” ~ Psalm 143:3 (KJV)

“Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him, [who is] the health of my countenance, and my God.” ~ Psalm 43:5 (KJV)

“The LORD [is] my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.” ~ Lamentations 3:24 (KJV)

“I wait for the LORD, my soul doth wait, and in his word do I hope.” ~ Psalm 130:5 (KJV)

“For thou hast been a shelter for me, [and] a strong tower from the enemy.” ~ Psalm 61:3 (KJV)

“Let the redeemed of the LORD say [so], whom he hath redeemed from the hand of the enemy;” ~ Psalm 107:2 (KJV)

“Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.” ~ Luke 10:19 (KJV)

I think I can see a bit of sunshine peeking out from behind those clouds… 🙂

“Now I’m sunny with a high of 75, since you took my heavy heart and made it light. And it’s funny how you find you enjoy your life, when you’re happy to be alive.” (Relient K)

This entry was posted in April 2012, Contentment, God, Hope, Joy, Satan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Took My Heavy Heart and Made it Light!

  1. Dawn says:

    Good stuff! Thank you for being honest.
    We love Relient K around here! We decided they must be a band of 3rd borns. Just listen to them and think about it! 😀

Leave a Reply

