Fiery Darts of the Enemy

Ever feel like you cannot win this spiritual battle? No matter what you do, you have those people who still whisper and tell lies about you behind your back. To your face they may be pleasant, yet in their heart they mock you. No? Oh… Me neither. But if I did feel that way, here are some verses I would turn to.

“Yea, mine own familiar friend, in whom I trusted, which did eat of my bread, hath lifted up [his] heel against me.” ~ Psalm 41:9 (KJV)

“A false witness [that] speaketh lies, and he that soweth discord among brethren.” ~ Proverbs 6:19 (KJV)

“A man that beareth false witness against his neighbour [is] a maul, and a sword, and a sharp arrow.” ~ Proverbs 25:18 (KJV)

Even friends and family hurt us. And those wounds are the worst. Yet, what does the Bible say about all of us, about me?

“God forbid: yea, let God be true, but every man a liar; as it is written, That thou mightest be justified in thy sayings, and mightest overcome when thou art judged.” ~ Romans 3:4 (KJV)

“If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.” ~ 1 John 1:10 (KJV)

“If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen?” ~ 1 John 4:20 (KJV)

Hmm, it looks like everyone is a sinner and a liar. And I need to be careful, because I don’t want to be a liar. I want to love my brothers and sisters, even when they wrong me. God, give me Your love!

Jesus was willing to be wounded- emotionally, spiritually and physically- on our behalf.

“But he [was] wounded for our transgressions, [he was] bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace [was] upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.” ~ Isaiah 53:5 (KJV)

“Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed.” ~ 1 Peter 2:24 (KJV)

Thank you, Jesus, for taking my sin upon Yourself and paying the price so that I might have life!

People are sometimes going to be upset with us and not “like” us, especially if we are living for Jesus. We are told that the world is offended by the gospel.

“Ye adulterers and adulteresses, know ye not that the friendship of the world is enmity with God? whosoever therefore will be a friend of the world is the enemy of God.” ~ James 4:4 (KJV)

How, then, can we bear this heavy burden? God “has our back”.

“But thou, O LORD, [art] a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.” ~ Psalm 3:3 (KJV)

“He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth [shall be thy] shield and buckler.” ~ Psalm 91:4 (KJV)

“Thou [art] my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word.” ~ Psalm 119:114 (KJV)

“If we receive the witness of men, the witness of God is greater: for this is the witness of God which he hath testified of his Son.” ~ 1 John 5:9 (KJV)

Don’t forget to put on the whole armor of God. Be in the word daily. Pray without ceasing.

“Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.” ~ Ephesians 6:16 (KJV)

And remember: Satan is the real enemy, not the person wronging you.

“Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.” ~ Ephesians 6:11 (KJV)

“Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:” ~ 1 Peter 5:8 (KJV)

Okay, I feel better now. Satan is the enemy, but God is stronger and will shield and protect me. And I need to love everyone, even those who hurt me.

“But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you;” ~ Matthew 5:44 (KJV)

Impossible on my own; however…

“I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” ~ Philippians 4:13 (KJV)

This entry was posted in Armor of God, Family, God, God's Faithfulness, Jesus, Love one another, March 2012, Obedience, Others, Satan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

