A Spirit of Fear

“For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.” ~ 2 Timothy 1:7 (KJV)

I have been gripped the past few days with what I can only describe as a spirit of fear. Though I know that this spirit is not from God, I am still wrestling with it. I decided to look up verses about fear to help calm my soul and realized perhaps I was supposed to share them here.

In Numbers 14, the sons of Israel were so fearful of the inhabitants of the promised land that they didn’t trust in God and had to pay the consequences of wandering forty more years in the wilderness. I don’t want to miss out on God’s plans for me because I was too afraid to trust Him.

First of all, the Bible tells us to fear not.

“And Joshua said unto them, Fear not, nor be dismayed, be strong and of good courage: for thus shall the LORD do to all your enemies against whom ye fight.” ~ Joshua 10:25 (KJV)

“And he answered, Fear not: for they that [be] with us [are] more than they that [be] with them.” ~ 2 Kings 6:16 (KJV)

“Fear thou not; for I [am] with thee: be not dismayed; for I [am] thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” ~ Isaiah 41:10 (KJV)

“For I the LORD thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee.” ~ Isaiah 41:13 (KJV)

I like the thought of God holding my hand. 🙂

The Bible tells us we should only fear God. This fear is a healthy respect and reverence, for He is the great I am, the Creator of all things, and He alone is our salvation. He holds the power over life and death. Choose life.

“Only fear the LORD, and serve him in truth with all your heart: for consider how great [things] he hath done for you.” ~ 1 Samuel 12:24 (KJV)

“Teach me thy way, O LORD; I will walk in thy truth: unite my heart to fear thy name.” ~ Psalm 86:11 (KJV)

“For as the heaven is high above the earth, [so] great is his mercy toward them that fear him.” ~ Psalm 103:11 (KJV)

“Ye that fear the LORD, trust in the LORD: he [is] their help and their shield.” ~ Psalm 115:11 (KJV)

“He will bless them that fear the LORD, [both] small and great.” ~ Psalm 115:13 (KJV)

“Let them now that fear the LORD say, that his mercy [endureth] for ever.” ~ Psalm 118:4 (KJV)

“So shall they fear the name of the LORD from the west, and his glory from the rising of the sun. When the enemy shall come in like a flood, the Spirit of the LORD shall lift up a standard against him.” ~ Isaiah 59:19 (KJV)

I am so glad to be marching under the standard of God’s protection and love, no matter what may come. 🙂

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou [art] with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.” ~ Psalm 23:4 (KJV)

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.” ~ 1 John 4:18 (KJV)

God, cast out our fear with Your perfect love! Let the enemy torment us no more. Fill us with Your peace!

This entry was posted in Faith, Fear, February 2012, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, Israel, Love, Numbers, Peace, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

