And The LORD Heard It

First, the sons of Israel complained, loudly and with ungrateful hearts. Then, Moses cried out to the LORD for help with “all this people”. Next, “Miriam and Aaron spoke against Moses because of the Cushite woman whom he had married (for he had married a Cushite woman); and they said, ‘Has the LORD indeed spoken only through Moses? Has He not spoken through us as well?’ And the LORD heard it.” ~ Numbers 12:1-2

“And the LORD heard it.” We need to remember that God hears everything. How many times has He extended mercy to me when I have foolishly spoken and deserve to be punished? Oh, that I might watch my heart and my tongue!

Moses’ siblings had spoken publicly against their brother. But remember, God defends His people.

“Deliver me from mine enemies, O my God: defend me from them that rise up against me.” ~ Psalm 59:1 (KJV)

And, oh what a defense Moses was given!

“(Now the man Moses was very humble, more than any man who was on the face of the earth.) And suddenly the LORD said to Moses and Aaron and to Miriam, ‘You three come out to the tent of meeting.’ So the three of them came out. Then the LORD came down in a pillar of cloud and stood at the doorway of the tent, and He called Aaron and Miriam. When they had both come forward, He said, ‘Hear now My words: If there is a prophet among you, I, the LORD, shall make Myself known to him in a vision. I shall speak with him in a dream. Not so, with My servant Moses, he is faithful in all My household; with him I speak mouth to mouth, even openly, and not in dark sayings, and he beholds the form of the LORD. Why then were you not afraid to speak against My servant, against Moses?’ So the anger of the LORD burned against them and He departed.” ~ Numbers 12:3-9

How dare they not be afraid to speak out against this faithful servant of God, who spoke face to face with Him? Isn’t that a beautiful defense? I want to be a humble, true servant like Moses was.

Miriam apparently had led the cry against Moses, for we are told in verse 10, “when the cloud had withdrawn from over the tent, behold, Miriam was leprous, as white as snow.” Consequences. How we hate them! Yet we deserve so much more than He allows. Mercy.

“And Moses cried out to the LORD, saying, ‘O God, heal her, I pray!'” ~ Numbers 12:13. And God did heal her, after seven days.

We need to be careful about what we say. God hears.

This entry was posted in Aaron, February 2012, God, God's Promises, Israel, Miriam, Moses, Numbers, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And The LORD Heard It

  1. Dawn says:

    Your heart touches me.

    This entry makes me think of both times I’ve needed God’s mercy and when others have spoken against me. It helps to know that God hears that, too. I pray that I am as merciful toward those who have hurt me as Moses was toward Miriam. He didn’t say, “As soon as she apologizes, Lord, you can heal her.” He just begged for her healing.

    Above anything and everything in this world, I long to be one whom the Lord speaks to face to face.

Leave a Reply

