Content or Complaining?

After a crazy week of errands and appointments, I have a morning at home! I finished up a few domestic chores (okay, quite a few), and I’m now enjoying a cup of coffee and the word of God- perfect. I am so thankful God is patient with me on the days when I get “too busy” to sit down with Him and study. Sometimes I stinketh, yet He still loves me and gives me His mercy and grace. Hallelujah!

Back into Numbers: The sons of Israel broke camp and set out for the first time in Numbers 10. The cloud was lifted from over the tabernacle, and they marched according to their standards and armies and tribes.

“Thus they set out from the mount of the LORD three days’ journey, with the ark of the covenant of the LORD journeying in front of them for the three days, to seek out a resting place for them. And the cloud of the LORD was over them by day, when they set out from the camp. Then it came about when the ark set out that Moses said, ‘Rise up, O LORD! And let Thine enemies be scattered, and let those who hate Thee flee before Thee.’ And when it came to rest, he said, ‘Return Thou, O LORD to the myriad thousands of Israel.'” ~ Numbers 10:33-36

What a beautiful picture! Too bad we humans can’t stay happy, reverent and content. Here comes chapter 11…

“Now the people became like those who complain of adversity in the hearing of the LORD;” ~ Numbers 11:1a

Numbers 10 ended with Moses saying poetic words about God’s leadership and protection. Numbers 11 opens declaring that the people began complaining! What? They whined about missing “the fish which we used to eat free in Egypt, the cucumbers and the melons and the leeks and the onions and the garlic, but now our appetite is gone. There is nothing at all to look at except this manna.” ~ Numbers 11:5-6

This manna. Wow. Manna was the unique food God created especially for them while they lived in the desert, “and its taste was like wafers with honey.” ~ Exodus 16:31b

But when I think about it, how quickly do I become discontent with what God has graciously provided for me? Whatever you have been given, is it ever enough? Our human nature always wants something more, something better, something different.

Perhaps that is what causes people to search for something to fill the “God-shaped hole”, and hopefully leads them to God’s saving grace.

As Christians, we have found that Something– Jesus- and He is all we need! Whatever else He gives us beyond His forgiveness, salvation, eternal life, mercy, grace, love and peace is to be treasured, appreciated, and recognized as His to give and His to take away. We should be content in Christ.

Paul states it well:
“Not that I speak from want; for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” ~ Philippians 4:11-13

Amen!

This entry was posted in Blessings, Contentment, Egypt, Exodus, February 2012, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, Israel, Jesus, Moses, Numbers, Paul, Sin Nature, Tabernacle. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Content or Complaining?

  1. angie dixon says:

    I needed this today and everyday! thank you for your blogs.

Leave a Reply

