Hearing His Voice

“Now when Moses went into the tent of meeting to speak with Him, he heard the voice speaking to him from above the mercy seat that was on the ark of the testimony, from between the two cherubim, so He spoke to him.” ~ Numbers 7:89

The leaders of each tribe of Israel had just given large offerings, of silver, gold, incense, carts and animals, for the dedication of the tent of meeting. After the dedication offerings, Moses went in to speak with God.

Again, I am envious of Moses. Not in an “I wish I could take his place, push him out of the way, and rule the world” sort of a way, but in a “wow, he was so lucky, I want to talk to God like that!” sort of way. And I must admit I am looking forward to meeting him in heaven and listening to his stories. Although, we will all be in God’s presence then, so maybe I’d rather talk with God! 🙂

Can you imagine going into the presence of God, before the mercy seat, and hearing God’s voice? Not some abstract thundering noise, but the voice of God. And Moses could tell exactly where the voice was coming from, “from between the two cherubim” on the mercy seat. Wow!

I want to always be ready to “enter in” and hear the voice of God.

“My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any [man] pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave [them] me, is greater than all; and no [man] is able to pluck [them] out of my Father’s hand. I and [my] Father are one.” ~ John 10:27-30 (KJV)

My heart knows the voice of my Shepherd, as He leads me. Though I do not hear an audible voice, my heart is spoken to, and I know the way. So I guess, really, I am even more blessed than Moses, for Jesus made a way for me to enter in to God’s presence and speak with Him. And through Jesus’ righteousness, I am cleansed from my sin and placed into the Father’s hand, where “no man is able to pluck” me away. Ever.

Do you know the Shepherd’s voice?

This entry was posted in Cherubim, February 2012, God, Jesus, Moses, Numbers, Offerings, Shepherd, Tabernacle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

