More Than

I am still reading through Leviticus, and I must admit there has been nothing in my daily study placed on my heart to write about. Though the topics themselves are not grabbing my attention, I am hoping that this is confirmation that my blogging inspiration comes from God, which is my heart’s earnest prayer. I only want to write what He shares with me to write.

Last night at church, however, the passage in 1 Timothy that our Pastor taught out of did grab my attention. Paul wrote to encourage the young pastor, but, as with the rest of God’s word, it is for us, also.

“I thank Christ Jesus, our Lord, who has strengthened me, because He considered me faithful, putting me into service; even though I was formerly a blasphemer and a persecutor and a violent aggressor. And yet I was shown mercy, because I acted ignorantly in unbelief; and the grace of our Lord was more than abundant, with the faith and love which are found in Christ Jesus. It is a trustworthy statement, deserving full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, among whom I am foremost of all.” ~ 1 Timothy 1:12-15

Because Paul had believed on the Lord Jesus Christ, he was considered faithful, strengthened, and put into the ministry. When we believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, we too are considered faithful, given the strength of the Holy Spirit, and put into ministry. Wherever we are, we are called to serve and to share the Gospel with others.

Paul recognized how undeserving he was of the forgiveness given him. He had persecuted, tortured, and killed followers of Jesus before becoming a follower of Jesus himself. Yet he was “shown mercy”.

I LOVE this next statement: “the grace of our Lord was more than abundant”. God’s grace is more than. It is more than abundant, more than enough, more than able to cover our sins and forgive any and all wrongs we have done, no matter how wicked. God’s grace isn’t just enough, it is more than. 🙂

Finally, Paul tells us that this is a trustworthy, truthful statement: “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners”. As our pastor said last night, He didn’t come to be a great teacher, although He was. He didn’t come to show us the way to live, although He did. His primary reason for coming to this earth was “to save sinners”.

I am so glad He did! 🙂 Aren’t you?

This entry was posted in Forgiveness, God, God's Faithfulness, January 2012, Jesus, Leviticus, Paul, The Truth, Timothy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

