Sit Still!

I had to take a break while writing my blog this morning, and when I returned to it, the draft was gone. Sigh. So instead of having a fit- okay, I did throw a pity party- I sat and watched the snowflakes drifting down and was still for awhile. Why is it so hard for me to just be still?

The song “Hats” by Amy Grant comes to mind. “One day I’m a mother, one day I’m a lover, what am I supposed to do? … Why do I have to wear so many things on my head?” There are always so many tasks to complete, so many people to please, so many needs competing for my time and attention, so many dirty socks demanding washing. So when I get a moment of peace and quiet, it seems almost sinful to stop and do nothing. I have five trillion things to get done, after all!

But God wants me to “Be still, and know that I [am] God:” ~ Psalm 46:10a. It does not say “run around like a chicken with its head cut off and try to get all your junk done”. Bummer, because I have that down pat. Nope, I am supposed to be still. And know that He is God.

Now I’m sure you’re all waiting to hear what God told me when I was finally still. Drumroll please… Nothing. But I sat and wondered over the breathtaking beauty and uniqueness of each masterpiece falling from the sky. I prayed for each one of our kiddos and asked for God’s protection and guidance in their lives. I enjoyed a moment of peace, resting in God.

Perhaps the beginnings of my blog this morning were not what God wanted me to share today after all. Perhaps He simply wanted to remind me to be still once in awhile and rest in the knowledge that He is God. If only I would sit still more often! 🙂

This entry was posted in God, January 2012, Peace, Psalms, Waiting on the Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

