For the Sake of the Gospel

Do I have what it takes? Does anyone? Not without God and His grace!

His mercies are new every morning. “[It is of] the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. [They are] new every morning: great [is] thy faithfulness.” ~ Lamentations 3:22-23 (KJV)

His grace is sufficient. In my weakness, He is made strong. “And He has said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’ Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may dwell in me. Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.” ~ 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

“I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” ~ Philippians 4:13 (KJV)

I cannot do it alone. No one can. But if I am called, God will provide my strength. Would I be willing to follow, no matter what the cost? Would I be willing to lay down my own desires, wants, needs, life? For the sake of the Gospel…

Daily the missionaries of Gospel For Asia in India are asked by God to sacrifice for Him and for His word, so that their countrymen might hear the good news of Jesus Christ. They suffer, whether it is long walks, weather, dangers of the jungle and their environment, or persecution and threats of death. Whole villages have been destroyed because of their stand for Christ. Pastors have been beaten and killed. Families harassed and abused. All because they have taken Jesus as their Savior and have given their lives to serve Him.

Would you lift these missionaries up in prayer? Remember them before our heavenly Father. Praise God for their servant hearts and obedience. Ask Him for strength, provision, and protection as they follow Him. Thank Him for what He is doing in Asia and throughout the earth, spreading His word and reaching the lost. Listen to Him if He moves your heart to support a missionary financially. Or perhaps He will call you to serve Him in a new way.

How are we doing here in America, in our comfortable homes and lives? Things are starting to get prickly. People are openly, publicly, and freely attacking God and His existence. The Bible is being disregarded as the whole word of God, and some people are choosing which parts of the Bible, and God, they would like to believe, if any. Clearly people are starting to take sides. They are either looking and believing, or scoffing and obscenely denying. The middle ground is disappearing. Which side are you going to be on?

Choose you this day whom you will serve. “…but as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.” ~ Joshua 24:15c

This entry was posted in God, Gospel For Asia, January 2012, Jesus, Obedience, Others, Sacrifice. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For the Sake of the Gospel

  1. whittmadden says:

    I often struggle here in America in my comfortable home, but the Lord is moving me away from a comfortable life. I’m not convinced the Christian life and the word comfortable fit together very well.

    • I agree. When we become too comfortable, there is something that needs to be changed. I am definitely a work in progress with my Lord and Savior sculpting and refining me and nudging me out of my comfort zone… 🙂

Leave a Reply

