The Glory of God and Meeting at the Doorway

I am working my way through the book of Exodus. When our pastor back in Oregon taught these passages, he handed out diagrams of the tabernacle and how it might have looked. It has really helped me to look at the drawings and to see the placement of the ark of the covenant and the lamp stand (which was a menorah) and to be able to visualize all those measurements and materials that God gave to Moses. Pastor Rob also gave us a drawing of the high priest and his very special garments. Again, I have appreciated the visual as I attempt to understand these detailed passages in Exodus.

I appreciate that though some of the Old Testament is difficult to understand, because it is the Word of God, it is not stale or outdated, and there is always something to be learned, if I approach it with a willing heart to be taught. And I must admit I love history! 🙂

I have two passages to share that have really impacted me in the past few weeks:

“Then Moses went up with Aaron, Nadab and Abihu, and seventy of the elders of Israel, and they saw the God of Israel; and under His feet there appeared to be a pavement of sapphire, as clear as the sky itself. Yet He did not stretch out His hand against the nobles of the sons of Israel; and they beheld God, and they ate and drank. Now the LORD said to Moses, ‘Come up to Me on the mountain and remain there, and I will give you the stone tablets with the law and the commandment which I have written for their instruction.’…Then Moses went up to the mountain, and the cloud covered the mountain. And the glory of the LORD rested on Mount Sinai, and the cloud covered it for six days; and on the seventh day He called to Moses from the midst of the cloud. And to the eyes of the sons of Israel the appearance of the glory of the LORD was like a consuming fire on the mountain top. And Moses entered the midst of the cloud as he went up to the mountain; and Moses was on the mountain forty days and forty nights.” ~ Exodus 24:9-12, 15-18

They saw God’s glory and lived! “They beheld God”, wow! How amazing that must have been. We need to realize that although, because of Jesus, we can freely approach God and talk with Him as a friend, He is also God Almighty, all powerful, all knowing, full of glory and honor, and we need to respect Him and treat Him with awe and reverence. I also noticed the specific days- “the cloud covered it for six days; and on the seventh day He called to Moses”- sounds a bit like the Creation week. “Moses was on the mountain forty days and forty nights”- it rained forty days and forty nights when the great Flood began.

The second passage is as follows:

“‘It shall be a continual burnt offering throughout your generations at the doorway of the tent of meeting before the LORD, where I will meet with you, to speak to you there. And I will meet there with the sons of Israel, and it shall be consecrated by My glory…And I will dwell among the sons of Israel and will be their God. And they shall know that I am the LORD their God who brought them out of the land of Egypt, that I might dwell among them; I am the LORD their God.'” ~ Exodus 29:42-43, 45-46

God met the people at the doorway of the tabernacle. He met with them and dwelt among them! I want my home to be consecrated to the LORD, for Him to be welcomed here to dwell with our family. I love knowing that the great I am is there to accept my offerings of prayer to Him, and that He is my God! Hallelujah!

This entry was posted in Aaron, December 2011, Exodus, God, History, Israel, Moses, The Nature of God. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Glory of God and Meeting at the Doorway

  1. Thank you for this. I love the parallels and symbolism found from beginning to end in the Bible. I really like this entry. Thanks for sharing what God shares with you.

    • You are welcome. I love how the entire Bible fits together so beautifully, and how all of it points us to Jesus! I am so very thankful God chooses to teach and to use me. 🙂 Happy New Year!

  2. Sammie says:

    I am also amazed by the description given of the account on the mountain of God. As, you read ,
    you can feel the presence of the Glory of the almighty God over shadowing you. I end the reading
    of God’s word in awe and want to learn more of God’s presence. I pray, God will enlighten us
    daily with His Wisdom, His Glory, Majesty and Power.

Leave a Reply

