Come Now, and I Will Send You

Moses was raised in the household of Pharaoh, living his first forty years in the comfortable lifestyle of an Egyptian. Yet he knew he was an Israelite, a Hebrew. He saw how his people were oppressed, and he took notice. After he killed an Egyptian for beating a Hebrew (Exodus 2:12), Moses took refuge in the land of Midian. The priest of Midian welcomed him and gave his daughter Zipporah to Moses as his wife. They began a family, and the next forty years of Moses’ life were spent as a shepherd.

Moses was now eighty, well past “retirement age” in our culture today. Yet God had big things in store for Moses.

“Now Moses was pasturing the flock of Jethro his father-in-law, the priest of Midian; and he led the flock to the west side of the wilderness, and came to Horeb, the mountain of God. And the angel of the LORD appeared to him in a blazing fire from the midst of a bush; and he looked, and behold, the bush was burning with fire, yet the bush was not consumed. So Moses said, ‘I must turn aside now, and see this marvelous sight, why the bush is not burned up.'” ~ Exodus 3:1-3

God knew this would draw Moses’ attention, and He Himself called to Moses “from the midst of the bush, and said, ‘Moses, Moses!’ And he said, ‘Here I am.’ Then He said, ‘Do not come near here; remove your sandals from your feet, for the place on which you are standing is holy ground.’ He said also, ‘I am the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.’ Then Moses hid his face, for he was afraid to look at God.” ~ Exodus 3:4b-6

I think sometimes I do not “fear” God enough. Do I approach Him with honor and reverence? He is my Father and my Friend, but He is also the Creator of the Universe, the great “I AM”!

God told Moses that He had heard the cries of His people and had “‘seen the oppression with which the Egyptians are oppressing them. Therefore, come now, and I will send you to Pharaoh, so that you may bring My people, the sons of Israel, out of Egypt.'” ~ Exodus 3:9b-10

Out of the blue, with a murder charge waiting back in Egypt, God was sending Moses into the very presence of the Pharaoh, to free His people. Wow. I’m afraid I would have questioned God, like Moses did, in vs. 11 ~ “‘Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the sons of Israel out of Egypt?'”

God is patient with us, “‘O ye of little faith'” (Matthew 16:8), and He was patient with Moses, too. He assured Moses “‘Certainly I will be with you…'” (vs. 12) I am so thankful that God gives us His assurance that He will be with us! Jesus said, “‘and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.'” ~ Matthew 28:20b.

When God asks big things of us, we aren’t expected to do them alone. Before Jesus reassured the disciples that He would be with them always in Matthew 28, He commanded them, and us, to “‘Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.'” ~ Matthew 28:19-20

He is sending us, too. Will we question God and make excuses, or will we obey?

This entry was posted in Abraham, Burning Bush, Commandments, Egypt, Exodus, God's Promises, Hebrews, Isaac, Israel, Jacob, Moses, October 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

