Wait For Your God Continually

We are an impatient country. Fast food, drive up windows, instant downloads of movies and books, emails and texts delivered right to our phones. So, when we are told to wait for something, it nearly kills us. Yet how many times are we told in the Bible to “wait on the Lord”? Many, many times!

I have been reading about Joseph. After being falsely accused of attempted rape, he was thrown into prison. Even there, “the LORD was with Joseph and extended kindness to him, and gave him favor in the sight of the chief jailer.” ~ Genesis 39:21. God was with him, but Joseph still had to wait, and wait, and wait, to see how God’s plans would work out.

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” ~ Romans 8:28. God is trustworthy, so we can believe this is true in our lives.

For those of us “waiting”, and most of us are in one way or another- who is waiting for the return of Jesus? Amen!- here are some verses of encouragement about waiting on the LORD.

“Indeed, none of those who wait for Thee will be ashamed;” ~ Psalm 25:3a

“Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; yes, wait for the LORD.” ~ Psalm 27:14

“Rest in the LORD and wait patiently for Him;” ~ Psalm 37:7a

“‘And now, Lord, for what do I wait? My hope is in Thee.'” ~ Psalm 39:7

“I will give Thee thanks forever, because Thou hast done it, and I will wait on Thy name, for it is good, in the presence of Thy godly ones.” ~ Psalm 52:9

“Because of his strength I will watch for Thee, for God is my stronghold.” ~ Psalm 59:9

“I am weary with my crying; my throat is parched; my eyes fail while I wait for my God.” ~ Psalm 69:3

“I wait for the LORD, my soul does wait, and in His word do I hope.” ~ Psalm 130:5

The Bible tells us that when we wait on God we will not be ashamed. We must be strong and take courage in our hearts. Rest in God, and be patient. Hope in Him! Forever thank Him, for He has already done much in our lives. His name is good. God is our strength and stronghold. It is sometimes a painful wait, and it is okay to cry. Wait with your soul, and hope in His words.

“Yet those who wait for the LORD will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary.” ~ Isaiah 40:31

“Therefore, return to your God, observe kindness and justice, and wait for your God continually.” ~ Hosea 12:6

Come quickly, Lord Jesus!

This entry was posted in Genesis, God's Name, God's Promises, Joseph, Psalms, September 2011, Waiting on the Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

