My Hope is From Him

On my birthday, I turned to the Psalms for songs of praise. This morning, with fresh hurt in my heart from someone letting me down, and facing an enormous storm on the horizon together with someone I dearly love, I opened up the Psalms for words of encouragement. And God brought me to Psalm 62. And it was perfect.

“My soul waits in silence for God only; from Him is my salvation. He only is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I shall not be greatly shaken. How long will you assail a man, that you may murder him, all of you, like a leaning wall, like a tottering fence? They have counseled only to thrust him down from his high position; they delight in falsehood; they bless with their mouth, but inwardly they curse. My soul, wait in silence for God only, for my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I shall not be shaken. On God my salvation and my glory rest; the rock of my strength, my refuge is in God. Trust in Him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us.” ~Psalm 62:1-8

I’m tired of the shallowness, the fickleness, and sometimes even the pure wickedness of people. In this world, we are always going to be disappointed and hurt by others. That is just life. I know I hurt and disappoint others, as well. That must be why Jesus told us repeatedly that if we love Him, we should love one another. He commanded us to love one another. The world is broken and corrupted, but wouldn’t it be a little better place if we truly loved one another? More than ourselves, even, or at least as much as we love ourselves?

But today I will do as the Psalmist, David, says in Psalm 62:
“My soul, wait in silence for God only, for my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I shall not be shaken.”

This entry was posted in August 2011, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

