Psalms of Praise!

It is a glorious August morning! I am counting my blessings today, starting with the gift of another year of life here on this earth. My Creator has given me a new heart, a new life, and the promise of so much more to come!

Now, don’t get me wrong, life on this earth is certainly no cake walk. But when I look at the good things- life is hard but it is also always good- there are so many! I am so thankful for my hardworking, handsome husband ♥ and for his best friendship for 27 years and counting~ thanks, God! We have been blessed with four amazing, gifted, priceless children~ thanks, God! I have many wonderful friends and extended family~ thanks, God! We are fortunate to have a few acres for our chickens, horses, goats, cats, dogs… and even the turkeys~ thanks, God! We are healthy and have enough food to eat and money to pay the bills, even though they may be many~ thanks, God! And I know that whatever may come- and, yes, I know a storm is coming- You will never leave me nor forsake me~ thanks, God!

I so often turn to the Psalms for comfort during the hard times- be my refuge, God; shatter their teeth, Lord! But this morning, it was nice to randomly open up to the Psalms and see some of the many praises that have been turned into songs.

♪♫ Clap your hands, all ye people; shout to the LORD with a voice of triumph! Clap your hands, all ye people; shout to the LORD with a voice of praise! Hosanna, hosanna! Shout to the LORD with a voice of triumph! Praise Him, Praise Him! Shout to the LORD with a voice of praise! ♫♪ (from Psalm 47)

♪♪♫ Come let us worship and bow down; Let us kneel before the LORD our God, our Maker. For He is our God, and we are the people of His pasture; and the sheep of His hand, yes, the sheep of His hand. ♫♫ (from Psalm 95)

I finished up with Psalm 100. We had to memorize it in grade school, and I am so thankful for that now… although I don’t remember it word for word anymore, that’s for sure!

“Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all ye lands. Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing. Know ye that the LORD he is God: it is he that hath made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture. Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name. For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.”  Amen! 🙂

This entry was posted in August 2011, Praises, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

