The Last Chapter

I just completed my third time reading through the entire Bible! Yay! I am not going to confess how long I took doing it to those of you who are “Read the Bible in a Year” kind of people. I took my time, doing a “wise and righteous, foolish and wicked” study in Proverbs- remember that from Mr. Whelham’s class, fellow NWC alumni?- and enjoyed a long study of the Gospels, too. And I have certainly spent awhile in Revelation!

I spent MANY years just reading randomly in different books and places in the Bible, which was fine for me at the time. I grew up in a Christian school and yet never understood to look at the Bible as a whole book, and read it cover to cover. It wasn’t until we began attending a Calvary Chapel church in the 90’s that I realized this concept and applied it in my daily Bible study. And I LOVE it! It is so amazing to see how the individual books of the Bible fit together perfectly, and how it is all about Jesus!  🙂

Jesus tells us in three places in Revelation 22 that He is coming back soon~ vs. 7 “‘And behold, I am coming quickly.'” vs. 12 “‘Behold, I am coming quickly,'” vs. 20 “He who testifies to these things says, ‘Yes, I am coming quickly.’ Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.” These words were penned by John nearly 2,000 years ago, yet as we watch the world around us, the things that need to take place before His return (according to the Bible prophecies in Daniel and Matthew and elsewhere) have, in fact, taken place. There is nothing left that needs to happen. We could be snatched out of and away from this world at any moment!  🙂

There are also three blessings in this chapter~ vs. 7 “‘Blessed is he who heeds the words of the prophecy of this book.'” vs. 14 “Blessed are those who wash their robes, that they may have the right to the tree of life, and may enter by the gates into the city.” And the last verse in the last chapter of the last book of the New Testament and of the entire Bible, vs. 21 “The grace of the Lord Jesus be with all. Amen.” The Bible as a whole book ends with a blessing. And with an Amen~ “so let it be”.

There is also a warning of a curse.  “I testify to everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: if anyone adds to them, God shall add to him the plagues which are written in this book; and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part from the tree of life and from the holy city, which are written in this book.” ~Revelation 22:18-19. How many churches are taking out parts of the Bible that are offensive to our culture today? Let’s not do that! In the Bible, EVERY WORD IS GOD’S WORD.

“He who testifies to these things says, ‘Yes, I am coming quickly.’ Amen. Come, Lord Jesus. The grace of the Lord Jesus be with all. Amen.” ~Revelation 22:20-21  ~AMEN!~

This entry was posted in July 2011, Revelation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

