Does Not Share Well With Others

Hello, my name is Debbie, and I am a sinner. It has been maybe, um, 2 minutes since my last sinful thought. The first step is admitting I have a problem, right? I just didn’t want to admit it in front of the whole world! But God brought me here, so here I am.  

I read Revelation 18 this morning, all about the fall of commercial Babylon, the collapse of the one world economy in the last days of the Tribulation. I googled Babylon, hoping to find some interesting information about it being rebuilt. God, however, wanted me to address an area in my life that I am struggling in, not blog about Babylon, doggone it! So here it is…

I don’t want to share!!! There, I said it. I don’t want to share the new car! How crazy is that??? My sin nature has completely taken charge and is very selfish. The new creation that I have become in Christ is trying to argue my sin nature back down, but the battle is kind of ugly right now… “I thought he liked the truck.” (He wants to enjoy the new car. And, um, you don’t need to go anywhere until Friday.) “But I can’t drive around all day long by myself, wherever I please- why does he get to??” (Oh yeah, he has to go to work. Yes, he gets to be out and about by himself- a perk of his job!) “But I have to make that tank of gas last until payday!” (Well, at least this way there will be a bit less gas needed in the truck.) “Maybe I should go out and find a job and buy a new car all for myself!!” (Your job is to take care of the umpteen million things around the ranch and home, to be a help-meet for him, not to mention homeschooling, hel-lo-o?)

Then the “poor me” monster comes for a visit. “I am stuck at home!” (Actually, I get to be at home and enjoy my own routine, crazy though it can be.) “I don’t deserve anything else, anyway.” (What I deserve, thankfully God doesn’t give me ~MERCY! What I don’t deserve, He freely gives~ GRACE!) “I am not worth much, especially in this world.” (I am fearfully and wonderfully made, loved by my Creator.)

I sound like a child, don’t I? I am desperately hoping that others can identify with me and appreciate the struggle that often happens between the old man and the new man, when we have given our lives to Jesus. The battle seems to be daily. If I’m not careful, the ugly sin nature is only too happy to take charge. And then I’m ready to start singing the childhood song, “Nobody loves me, everybody hates me, I’m gonna go eat worms!” 🙂

Paul reminds us~ “Therefore if any man is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.” ~2 Corinthians 5:17

Thankfully, I’m in good company! Even if all my friends cannot identify with my silliness- and believe me, I know I am being ridiculous!!- Paul could:

“For that which I am doing, I do not understand; for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate. But if I do the very thing I do not wish to do, I agree with the Law, confessing that it is good. So now, no longer am I the one doing it, but sin which indwells me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh; for the wishing is present in me, but the doing of the good is not. For the good that I wish, I do not do; but I practice the very evil that I do not wish. But if I am doing the very thing I do not wish, I am no longer the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me. I find then the principle that evil is present in me, the one who wishes to do good. For I joyfully concur with the law of God in the inner man, but I see a different law in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind, and making me a prisoner of the law of sin which is in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, on the one hand I myself with my mind am serving the law of God, but on the other, with my flesh the law of sin.” ~Romans 7:15-25

I have a friend who suggests that you go ahead, sit down, and throw yourself an actual little pity party- and then get over it! I think today, instead, I shall start dinner in the crock pot, scrub a toilet or two, throw a load of towels into the washer, crank up some tunes and spend a couple of hours mowing (I do miss the riding mower), and then jump in the pool- one of the perks of my job. 🙂

And I shall choose to surrender my sin nature to God- “Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!”

This entry was posted in July 2011, Romans, Sin Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

