“It is Done”

Another gorgeous summer morning- what IS it about summer mornings? 🙂 – and I am reading about the final plague in Revelation. Oh, how I want the whole world to come to know and love Jesus, right now! And oh, how I wish that sin had never corrupted our world.

“And the seventh angel poured out his bowl upon the air; and a loud voice came out of the temple from the throne, saying, ‘It is done.’ And  there were flashes of lightning and sounds and peals of thunder; and there was a great earthquake, such as there had not been since man came to be upon the earth, so great an earthquake was it, and so mighty. And the great city was split into three parts, and the cities of the nations fell. And Babylon the great was remembered before God, to give her the cup of the wine of His fierce wrath. And every island fled away, and the mountains were not found. And huge hailstones, about one hundred pounds each, came down from heaven upon men; and men blasphemed God because of the plague of the hail, because its plague was extremely severe.” ~Revelation 16:17-21

When the seventh angel pours out his bowl upon the air, the last bowl and the final judgment upon the earth, Jesus says with a loud voice from the temple, “It is done.” That sounds familiar, doesn’t it? In John 19:30, Jesus says from the cross, “It is finished.” I looked up the Greek words for these phrases and compared the two to see how they were different. In John, the Greek word is “teleō”, meaning “to bring to a close, to end, to finish, to perform, to pay”. In Revelation, the Greek word is “ginomai”, meaning “to become, to happen, to be made finished”.  When Jesus said, “It is finished,” from the cross, He was stating that He was bringing to an end the penalty for sin, finishing His sacrifice for us here on earth, paying our penalty. He paid for us. When Jesus will say, “It is done,” out of the temple from the throne, He will be stating that it has happened and has been made finished. In both instances, I find it interesting that Jesus declares it done, finished. He says it, and it is so.  

I cannot comprehend what this great and mighty earthquake will be like. Islands fleeing away, mountains not to be found- islands moving, mountains gone?? The coverage of Japan after the 9.0 earthquake and subsequent tsunami was so shocking. It was beyond my imagination, so horrible was the devastation. What will this be like?? And then there will be one hundred pound hailstones- like boulders falling from the sky. And men will curse God again.

When I am truly frightened or worried or distressed, I cry out to God. Sometimes in anger, I am quite ashamed to say- “Why me??” “Why not me,” I should be thinking… But I cannot ever imagine cursing Him, my Creator and Heavenly Father, for “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in time of trouble.” ~Psalm 46:1  Where else can I turn? He is my Rock.

I am so thankful for the Psalms of David- he put into words what my heart cries out~ “In Thee, O LORD, I have taken refuge; let me never be ashamed; in Thy righteousness deliver me. Incline Thine ear to me, rescue me quickly; be Thou to me a rock of strength, a stronghold to save me. For Thou art my rock and my fortress; for Thy name’s sake Thou wilt lead me and guide me. Thou wilt pull me out of the net which they have secretly laid for me; for Thou art my strength. Into Thy hand I commit my spirit; Thou hast ransomed me, O LORD, God of truth.” ~Psalm 31:1-5    

 

This entry was posted in July 2011, Psalms, Revelation, Seven Bowl Judgments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

