The Armor Isn’t a Suggestion

“Finally, be strong in the Lord, and in the strength of His might. Put on the full armor of God, that you may be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places.” ~Ephesians 6:10-12

Our pastor taught from this passage on Friday night, and I was struck by several different things. I love how you can read, or be taught, a familiar scripture and find new things to learn each time!

First of all, the imperative is used here. “Be strong”- YOU be strong. This is a command. But how can I be strong against the devil?? “in the Lord, and in the strength of His might”- oh yeah, with God I can do all things (see Philippians 4:13). “Put on”- YOU put on the full armor of God. Another command. How often do I forget to do that?? And then I am so surprised when I fall to one of the devil’s schemes…

The next thing that really jumped out at me was when our pastor mentioned that the armor was not meant to be used in battle with other people. It is not designed for that and will not protect us. It is to be used in spiritual battle- “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood”. Hmm, that would be why it gets ugly when we fight with one another. The enemy is not the person who is slandering me, the enemy is Satan. “If possible, so far as it depends on you, be at peace with all men.” ~Romans 12:18. Do what you can on your end, and leave the rest to God. 

Finally, I was struck by the fact that the battle is against spiritual forces, and some of those demons are actual rulers of regions and countries. In Daniel 10, Daniel had been fasting and praying for three weeks when an angel appeared to him and told him of the spiritual battle which had prevented him from coming the very first day. “But the prince of the kingdom of Persia was withstanding me for twenty-one days; then behold, Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, for I had been left there with the kings of Persia…But I shall now return to fight against the prince of Persia; so I am going forth, and behold, the prince of Greece is about to come.” ~Daniel 10: 13, 20b   He was engaged in battle with demons who were over those countries, wow.

My goal, then, is to be obedient. I will do my best to “be strong in the Lord, and in the strength of His might” and to remember to “put on the full armor of God”.  My commanding General is God, and He has given me His battle plan and all the tools to stand strong in His Word. Satan wants to disrupt our line of communication and keep me from reading my Bible. I must be strong! Of course, in the strength of His might, because I can’t do it alone. It isn’t pretty when I try…

 

This entry was posted in Armor of God, Ephesians, June 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

