Plant Mercy!

I was listening to the CD of our pastor’s teaching on Revelation 13 this morning, and I was struck by vs. 10~ “If anyone is destined for captivity, to captivity he goes; if anyone kills with the sword, with the sword he must be killed. Here is the perseverance of the saints.” This is a reminder of consequences and justice, hope for future “payment” when we are wronged, specifically here for the saints that will be persecuted and killed by Satan and his beast during the Tribulation period.

Paul reminds us in Romans 12:19~ “Never take your own revenge, beloved, but leave room for the wrath of God, for it is written, ‘VENGEANCE IS MINE, I WILL REPAY,’ says the Lord.”

Our pastor then commented that if he wants mercy, he should plant mercy. I usually take Galations 6:7 as a warning~ “Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, this he will also reap.” We reap what we sow. Be careful what you do, because you will pay the consequences later. Your sin will find you out (from Numbers 32:23). All true and good reminders for us. But what if we flipped that around and sowed good things? What if there were good consequences? 🙂

So often- not always, unfortunately- when I smile at a fellow shopper at the store I will receive a smile in return. Isn’t this a bit of sowing and reaping as well? The kinder we are to others, doesn’t that cause them to relax and show kindness back? If you approach the customer service counter with a gentle and kind spirit, you are more likely to be given that in return. It is much easier to love someone who is loving… although we are called as believers to smile, be kind, and love even those who are not going to return the favor!

God has forgiven me much, so I should forgive others. If I want to receive God’s mercies, grace, and blessings, I should plant them around me. Now, my actions and works are not tied to my salvation- that is a free gift that I can do nothing to earn but must accept it to receive it- and God loves me no matter what, but I would much rather pay good consequences in my life than bad ones. So, obedience to God, bringing glory to Him, loving others around me, joyfully going about my business here on this earth- I want to sow these things and reap in kind! Amen? 🙂

This entry was posted in June 2011, Revelation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

