Do Not Be Afraid

Easter weekend was a huge blessing. We even had sunshine and temperatures in the 60’s! 🙂 ♫ Oh, what manner of love the Father has given unto us! ♪ This morning I am very tired, but glad to be back in the book of Revelation, where I left off with John falling down as a dead man at the feet of Jesus.

“And He laid His right hand upon me, saying, ‘Do not be afraid; I am the first and the last, and the living One; and I was dead, and behold, I am alive forevermore, and I have the keys of death and of Hades.'” ~Revelation 1:17b-18

How many times does God have to tell us to not be afraid? He told Joshua repeatedly- “Be strong and courageous…” ~Joshua 1:6a. “Only be strong and very courageous;” ~Joshua 1:7a. “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous! Do not tremble or be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” ~Joshua 1:9. “…only be strong and courageous.” ~Joshua 1:18b. I’m guessing Joshua was very afraid, since God reassured Him over and over and over!

When Mary was told she would give birth to Jesus, Gabriel reassured her- “And the angel said to her, ‘Do not be afraid, Mary; for you have found favor with God.'” ~Luke 1:30. An angel also reassured Joseph (Matthew 1:20), the shepherds (Luke 2:10), and the women at the empty tomb, Matthew 28:5~ “And the angel answered and said to the women, ‘Do not be afraid; for I know that you are looking for Jesus who has been crucified.'”

Jesus reassured His disciples- “But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, ‘Take courage, it is I; do not be afraid.'” ~Matthew 14:27. “‘Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives, do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.'” ~John 14:27

I’m thinking we aren’t supposed to be afraid! But instead, we need to trust God and take courage that He is in charge of everything, because after all, He conquered death and the Enemy- “‘…and I was dead, and behold, I am alive forevermore, and I have the keys of death and of Hades.'” 🙂

This entry was posted in April 2011, Revelation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

