It’s a GOOD Friday!

I decided to read in John today, in honor of this wonderful Good Friday. 🙂 We can’t have the joy of Easter without the sorrow of the crucifixion. Jesus willingly, not forcibly, was arrested, put on trial, beaten nearly to death, tormented, and then crucified- for me. And for you. For the whole world. So we can be free of the bondage of our sin! 🙂 And then He conquered death! For me, and for you, and for the whole world!

As I flipped through the Gospel of John, I came across chapter 17 and was reminded that all 26 verses record Jesus’ prayer for His disciples- and for US!- right before His arrest. Most people know that Jesus prayed for Himself, “Father, if Thou art willing, remove this cup from Me; yet not My will, but Thine be done.” ~Luke 22:42. But He also asked the Father to watch over His followers, and over us-

“‘While I was with them, I was keeping them in Thy name which Thou hast given Me; and I guarded them, and not one of them perished but the son of perdition [Judas], that the Scripture might be fulfilled. But now I come to Thee; and these things I speak in the world, that they may have My joy made full in themselves. I have given them Thy word; and the world has hated them, because they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world. I do not ask Thee to take them out of the world, but to keep them from the evil one. … I do not ask in behalf of these alone, but for those also who believe in Me through their word; that they may all be one; even as Thou, Father, art in Me, and I in Thee, that they also may be in Us; that the world may believe that Thou didst send Me. … Father, I desire that they also, whom Thou hast given Me, be with Me where I am, in order that they may behold My glory, which Thou hast given Me; for Thou didst love Me before the foundation of the world. ‘” ~John 17:12-15, 20-21, 24  (I cut some verses out simply to shorten this post; it was really hard to do because every word of Scripture is important and meaningful!)

My Saviour prayed for me, and continues to pray on my behalf, before the throne of God. Hebrews 7:25~ “Hence, also, He is able to save forever those who draw near to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them.”

Thank you, Jesus, for the cross, for the empty tomb, for Your word, and for Your prayers!

This entry was posted in April 2011, Easter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

