Who Is and Was and Is to Come

“‘I am the Alpha and the Omega,’ says the Lord God, ‘who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty.'” ~Revelation 1:8

I love the places in the Bible where God reveals some of Himself to us. When Moses asked who he should say sent him to the Israelites back in Egypt- “‘Now they may say to me, ‘What is His name?’ What shall I say to them?’ And God said to Moses, ‘I AM WHO I AM’; and He said, ‘Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.'” ~Exodus 3:13b-14- God told Moses His name! His name is His very nature, His character, who He is. And it is I AM. He is who He is and has always been. There is no one else like God. When He says ‘I AM’, that is it, period.

This time reading through my Bible, as I’ve mentioned before, I am underlining verses where “the name” of Jesus, God, or the Holy Spirit is mentioned. I am also underlining places where God or Jesus are speaking and use the words “I am”. You may be surprised how often this is, and how those words, when understood to be God’s name, have a special meaning, at least to me. Just one example- John 14:6~ “Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father, but through Me.'”

Back to Revelation! In the above verse, God tells us that He, I am, is the Alpha and the Omega. The first letter in the Greek alphabet, and the last letter, the beginning and the end. Then He goes on to say, “who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty.” He covers it all- He is, present; He was, past; He is to come, future. And He is almighty. Wow.

♫ ♪ My God is so big, so strong and so mighty, there’s nothing my God cannot do! For you! ♪ ♫ ♪

This entry was posted in April 2011, Revelation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

